Viewing Publish newest blog post only

Publish newest blog post only



User: Lance L. 2 years ago
I'm hoping this feature is in the works. It really is horribly inefficient the way adding or editing a single blog post results in all blog posts being republished. Rather sad if like me you have over 400 posts.
User: EverWeb Support 2 years ago
Hi Lance,

Thank you for your question.

You can publish new blogs by going to top menu bar - > File - > Publish Site Changes.

Let me know if any questions arise.

-------------------------------
EverWeb Customer Support
Submit Tickets or Learn More
User: Paul-RAGESW 2 years ago
Hi Lance,

By default, only the latest blog posts are published.

The only way all blog posts will publish is if you make a change to the actual design of the blog post page.

If you are seeing something different then this, please clarify which version of EverWeb you are using and we can work from there to figure out the issue.

-------------------------------
Paul
EverWeb Developer
User: Lance L. one year ago
Hi Paul (and others?),

I'd like to bump this one again. Despite what you said just above, the behaviour is very inconsistent in my experience. I'm occasionally successful in being able to publish only the latest post. But more commonly it wants to republish every post. I now have over 440 posts, so that can take quite a while. It even ruined my domestic bliss recently 😉😂 when I confidently promised a speedy posting and umm ... that wasn't what happened.

One factor that may possibly contribute (and may constitute a development issue in its own right?) is mobility. My main blog file I have stored in Dropbox. On my desktop (iMac) that file is aliased in the default location, ~/Library/Application Support/EverWeb. On my MBA I just work directly from the file in Dropbox. I mostly post from home on the iMac. But sometimes also from elsewhere on the laptop. The result seems to be that the two computers get out of sync in respect of knowing the current live state of the blog. So the next time I hop on the other computer, though the Dropbox file sync is very speedy and smooth, the computer I've moved to will have the last 2 or 3 posts labelled red not green. Sometimes ALL of them are red. I assume that's when the EW app insists on republishing the entire blog contents, even if I select "Publish Site Changes" only. That can make the setup rather inefficient when on the move, sometimes with slow connections adding to the "interest".

But I'm sure this happens in other situations too.

Last edit one year ago
User: Paul-RAGESW one year ago
Hi Lance,

Yes, what you describe makes sense for the issue. Your blog posts uploads data is saved in your library folder so the other computer will not know about the uploads you made.

We are working on a new solution to fix issues like this and other though.

-------------------------------
Paul
EverWeb Developer
User: Lance L. one year ago
Quote: Paul-RAGESW - 14/03/2023 11:10:37

Yes, what you describe makes sense for the issue. Your blog posts uploads data is saved in your library folder so the other computer will not know about the uploads you made.


Glad it makes sense.

Quote: Paul-RAGESW - 14/03/2023 11:10:37

We are working on a new solution to fix issues like this and other though.


OK that's good to know. Thanks.

Last edit one year ago
User: Lance L. one year ago
Just to reemphasise my point #5 above ... I've just posted my latest and took careful note of the app's behaviour. Note attached image from during the publishing action. Notice that all but the last post is marked green; and yet the app (again) republished every post, despite my use of the "Publish Site Changes" command.

Last edit one year ago
User: Cornelis V. one year ago
I have this problem too


Post Reply
You must login or signup to post.